Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

Valentino

with one comment

Valentino

Today’s birthday boy, designer Valentino Garavani, is one of those people who makes me question some of my theories about the relationship between fashion and astrology.

I usually have an intuitive knack for assigning a particular designer to a zodiac sign.  Most of the designers I mention in “Cosmically Chic” share an elemental or planetary relationship with the sign I claim they represent.  Tom Ford, for example, is a Virgo.  I assigned his tenure as the creative director of Gucci to the sign of Capricorn.  Virgo and Capricorn are not only related because they’re earth signs, but Virgos are typically attracted to Capricorns.  At a very basic level, individuals should find beauty in the sign that rules over their fifth house.  Capricorn rules over Virgo’s solar fifth house.

But that’s just one theory based upon one element of the designer’s chart.  I have a few of them!  Nevertheless, I don’t know much more about Valentino besides his alleged birthdate, and I’m relucant to accept his birth year at face value just because it’s on Wikipedia.  So I’m not going to look at his natal chart to try to explain why his signature line suits the aesthetic of Leo more than any other sign.

I am going to say that a Taurus with a well-balanced chart should be a paragon of good taste.  Wherever they find beauty, whether it’s in the audacious drama of Leo, the conceptual simplicity of Virgo, etc., they should have a knack for turning that aesthetic into tangible fashion.  That’s what Taurean designers do best.  Until he retired, that’s what Valentino did, too.

Written by Post Author

May 11, 2010 at 8:36 am

Posted in Daily Dish

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I approve of this post. And why the hell am I just learning of this site?

    rustyspigot

    June 14, 2010 at 6:39 pm


Leave a Reply

