Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

Full Moon Fever

leave a comment »

Full Moon

Today’s full moon in Gemini comes at an especially auspicious time.  On May 23, Jupiter and Saturn made their initial opposition — an event that only occurs once every twenty years.  With Saturn sitting stationary at about 28° Virgo, that degree becomes tremendously important — even life changing — for anyone who has natal planets hovering around that degree or making strong aspects to it.  Uranus also enters Aries today.  The planet has been in Pisces since March of 2003.  On May 31 Saturn turns direct, and just over a week later Jupiter leaves Pisces and then conjuncts Uranus in Aries on June 8.  That’s also an infrequent aspect, happening every fourteen years or so.

The tone of the latter conjunction should be quite different from the tone of the first events I mentioned.  Before I get ahead of myself, let me mention that today’s full moon is a great time to shut your mouth before you stick your foot in it.  Don’t start a debate just because you’re feeling argumentative.  And above all, if you’re going to argue, know what you’re talking about.  In a debate, the full moon in Sagittarius favors the person with a deeper understanding of the issue.  It’s no time to impress the world with your surface knowledge of a situation you believe you know because you probably don’t know much.  It’s time to admit your shortcomings.

Back to the other aspects.  I mentioned the Jupiter/Saturn opposition.  A good way to try to understand that aspect is to study the conjunction that preceded it in May, 2000.  If you can remember what you were doing then, then maybe you’ll be able to figure out where you’re headed now.  I can say that that was an especially optimistic time in my life.  My writing career was just about to take off, I was making positive strides in my personal life, and I felt extremely good about myself physically, mentally and spiritually.  A few years later, however, I realized that there was a rather “Pollyanna” quality to that time in my life.  I bought into my own hype.  That’s what Jupiter can do.  It brought me rewards that I had earned, but it also brought me a chronic back injury, a huge tax bill that still haunts me to this day, and an unsustainable career in a discipline that I wasn’t completely comfortable with anyway.  It took me way too long to figure that out.

It’s ten years later, and the planets that defined that era of my life are now in opposition.  I can look back to the last time this happened: September, 1989.  I was in university.  I was making friends with the most interesting people I’d ever met.  I decided to renew my fitness trainer designation through the YMCA, an organization I still volunteer for almost twenty years later.  I was honing my skills as a writer, and I was remarkably content with the minutiae of my life.  While it was a struggle, it was a struggle I was willing to take on.  I may be idealizing that part of my past, but I don’t believe I am.  The things I did in 1989 while this opposition occured have had a far more positive impact upon my life than anything else I’ve ever done.

So, I’m back there again, and so are all of you.  And whether or not you want to change things in your life, you’re probably going to have to change them, anyway.  The upcoming Jupiter/Uranus conjunction is big news, and I don’t feel like it’s going to be good news.  I’m a little worried about it.  Perhaps the Jupiter/Saturn opposition does have me feeling pessimistic.  Fortunately, I don’t have much happening in the first degree of Aries in my chart, or in the first degree of any of my natal planets.  But for those of you who do, it should be a time of major changes, and those changes will probably have a tremendous impact on the people around you — so no one is going to be able to avoid this aspect.

Written by Post Author

May 27, 2010 at 10:08 am

Posted in Full Moon Fever

Leave a Reply

