Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

Ann Shoket

leave a comment »

Ann Shoket

Seventeen” editor-in-chief Ann Shoket is today’s birthday girl.  Now I know that many fans of “America’s Next Top Model” make fun of Shoket and her magazine, but it’s the third-best-selling fashion magazine in America, behind “Cosmopolitan” and “Glamour.”

It figures that a Gemini is at the helm of a magazine directed toward teenagers.  Shoket’s rival, Amy Astley at “Teen Vogue” is also a Gemini.  I could chalk this up as a coincidence, but I won’t.  If you’ve been reading my blog for the past month where I constantly refer to Geminis as the “big kids of the zodiac,” you’ll know why these women succeed at the helm of magazines dedicated to big kids.

Like a teenager who has discovered fashion for the first time, both of these editors approach their audience with wide-eyed enthusiasm — a characteristic that defines their sign.  While Shoket’s earnestness can be a little cloying on her ANTM guest appearances, it’s entirely sincere.  Astley, my former boss, has a very similar demeanor.  I never once got the idea that she was jaded by the business she was in.  Unfortunately, while I worked for her she was surrounded by Scorpios — perhaps the most-jaded individuals in the zodiac.  It was frustrating, to say the least.

I did make me realize that I’d rather work for a hundred Geminis, though, before I’d ever want to work for another Scorpio.  So call me, Ann Shoket . . .

Written by Post Author

June 16, 2010 at 9:51 am

Posted in Daily Dish

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

