Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

k.d. lang

with one comment

k.d. lang

I used to run into today’s birthday girl, k.d. lang, in bars around town throughout the early 80s.  I knew who she was because she was always being written about in the local papers.  At the time, she was still a part of the Reclines, a Patsy Cline tribute band.  Back then she dressed with a little retro schtick that I found to be very appealing.  I was never the sort of person who would wear vintage, but I truly admired the creative people who shopped in second-hand stores.

As her career took off, however, she seemed to move away from the campy costumes while embracing a new signature look: A man’s suit.  The last time I saw her dressed in anything creative was in the “Miss Chatelaine” video.

To me, lang’s wardrobe since that time has been one big letdown.  I wouldn’t care if she wore a man’s suit every day if she chose a man’s suit that said something about the content of her character.  I know what it was like to be a kid who grew up in Alberta with nothing to watch on TV on a Saturday afternoon but “Hee Haw” and “The Lawrence Welk Show.”  I understood her reference points back in the early 80s, and that’s why I admired her so much.  She had reverence for an era that the rest of us considered to be a joke.

Scorpios have the ability to resurrect vintage looks without creating an outfit that is pure nostalgia or over-the-top camp.  As her career has progressed, k.d. lang has either lost that ability or else chosen not to exercise it.  To me, it’s disappointing.  Even when she was borrowing her looks from the past, she was still one of fashion’s true originals.

Written by Post Author

November 2, 2010 at 9:27 am

Posted in Daily Dish

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, was “Hee Haw” the only thing on back then? Being around Milwaukee we had local shows “Bowling With the Champs” and then the PBS yoga show “Hatha Yoga” http://www.angelfire.com/tv2/eccentric/kh-yoga.htm

    Hey, I can still put my legs behind my head, so I must have learned something. And my preferring to sit on the floor. That woman thought sitting on the floor was the greatest thing ever.

    Oh, And KD Lang’s alright.

    rustyspigot

    November 2, 2010 at 7:15 pm


Leave a Reply

