Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

Greg Polkosnik

with 4 comments

I’m today’s birthday boy.  Hooray!

First of all, let me explain the photo of myself that I’ve posted.  It’s just a unretouched, candid snapshot I happened to come across while I was looking for a pic to illustrate this post.  I didn’t want to use anything that looked too posed, if you know what I mean.

I was born right in the middle of the sun’s journey through Capricorn, about a day ahead of the full moon in Cancer, and midway through Libra’s ascension.  I’m a triple-threat of Cardinality!  The combination makes me competent, practical, even-tempered and the antithesis of the one sign missing from the Cardinal combo: Fiery Aries.  I couldn’t be less like an Aries if I tried.

One thing that I never talk about on this blog is Chinese astrology.  In that system, I’m also missing fire in my chart.  According to Feng Shui, I need to have more fiery things in my life.  I do like to wear red, but mostly because I look good in it.

Otherwise, my style is rather representative of my sign.  I’m conservative, but I usually wear something that elevates my outfit well above the mundane, whether it’s a distinctive print or just a great pair of shoes.  I don’t wear cheap clothes.  I don’t wear worn-out clothes.  I do prefer garments that are fitted, even to the point of being tight.  I always have clean fingernails, even during gardening season when I’m spending eight-hours-a-day with dirt up to my elbows.  My oral hygiene habits are stellar.  I’ve been working out for years and years, but I rarely wear work-out clothes when I’m not at the gym.  I usually shave once a week.  I used to do it more, but everyone tells me I look great with the stubble, and I like to give the people what they want.  Oh, and I’ve been a vegetarian since 1985.  I wish that meant that I didn’t wear leather, but I still do.  It’s hard to find shoes and belts that have leather’s functionality and durability.  If someone sold a great vegan line where I lived, I’d wear it, but the hippie stuff I find up here reminds of the things homeless people dig out of dumpsters.

Anyway, that’s my personal style in a nutshell.  And if Tom Ford or Tomas Maier want me to wear their clothes, I’m all ears . . .

Written by Post Author

January 6, 2011 at 7:49 am

Posted in Daily Dish

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear mr Pokosnik,

    I’m a fashion student and have a great personal interest in astrology. I really would like too read your book but I can’t find it anywhere in Holland. Can you tell me where I can buy the book?

    Kind regards,

    Femke Berkvens

    Femke

    February 7, 2011 at 5:58 am

    • I suppose that you would have to order it from amazon.com in the US. It’s been out of print for a while.

      Post Author

      February 7, 2011 at 7:46 am

  2. Mr.Polksnik, I’m a Sagittarius with a moon in Taurus…I love wearing earthy/fall colours, my two favorite colours are red and black. I’d really like to try and wear more lighter colours, but what is is a SagitTaurus to do? Thank you for any advice or cosmic help you can offer.

    Heather Nelson

    November 21, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    • Sagittarian colours are jewel tones, but it’s more important to wear whatever looks good on your skin tone. The big problem with Sagittarius natives is that they tend to adopt “bandwagonism” into their wardrobe choices. They dismiss whatever is popular while falling into the trap of dressing identically to their own “tribe.” You need to be more adventurous and explore your relationship with comfort (moon in Taurus). There can be a decadent streak to someone with this sun/moon combo. Feed it with fashion instead of food/drugs/booze/botox. Christina Aguilera has this combo.

      Post Author

      November 22, 2013 at 7:17 am


Leave a Reply

