Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

Donatella Versace

leave a comment »

Donatella Versace

The birthday girl for May 2 is Donatella Versace.

I’m a huge fan of Donatella.  Unlike a lot of people in the fashion business, I don’t look back at Gianni Versace’s career through rose-colored glasses.  During his lifetime, I was a vocal critic of the designer’s extravagance.  I found much of his work to be garish and out-of-synch with the trends of the time.  Versace didn’t seem like a luxury label to me.  It was more like the Ed Hardy of it’s era.

After his death, however, I started to notice the label again.  In fact, under the creative direction of Donatella, Versace has become one of my favorite fashion brands.  By keeping a tight reign on the family name, Donatella has allowed Versace to become so decadent and so exclusive that I actually feel intimidated when I walk into a Versace boutique.  Believe me, that didn’t happen when Gianni was still around.

Donatella understands luxury — she’s a Taurus, after all.  However, you can see for yourself that she’s made herself a little too familiar with luxury.  There’s a decadent streak in all Taurus natives that can lead to trouble when it’s not kept in check.  I can cite dozens of examples of Taurus individuals who have enjoyed too much sun, too much liquor, too much plastic surgery, etc.  Nevertheless, they can usually teach the rest of us a thing or two about how to live the high life and how to look our best (or worst) while doing it.

Written by Post Author

May 4, 2011 at 9:17 am

Posted in Daily Dish

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

