Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

Billy Wilder

leave a comment »

Billy Wilder

I suppose that one of the greatest misconceptions in astrology is that Cancer natives are overtly sentimental.  Frankly, I don’t believe that’s the case with most crabs.  In fact, I believe that most of them are incredibly defensive and remarkably talented at hiding their feelings, making them seem like the least-sentimental members of the zodiac.  I frequently use the expression “hard-boiled” to describe them.  To me, they’re just as well-represented by an egg as they are by a crab.

For that reason, it wasn’t really a surprise when I discovered that Billy Wilder is a Cancer.  I had never looked up his zodiac sign until just a moment ago (which is strange because I worship the ground that the man walks upon).  There aren’t a lot of movies that I can watch over and over again like Wilder’s films — I can’t even count how many times I’ve seen “Double Indemnity.”  What really intrigues me now that I know that Wilder was a Cancer is that he also shared his zodiac sign with Barbara Stanwyck, the star of the film.

I always use Stanwyck’s performance as the hard-boiled dame in “Double Indemnity” as the ideal example of classic Cancer style.  Now I’ll be able to use Wilder’s virtual invention of the “film noir” genre as another example of the Cancer aesthetic, much in the way that I describe Alfred Hitchcock’s heroines as “Scorpionic,” based on the director’s obsession with Grace Kelly.

It’s good to feel as if I’m right about these things.  It makes up for all the other times I stick my foot into my mouth.

Written by Post Author

June 22, 2011 at 8:34 am

Posted in Daily Dish

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

