Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

Courtney Stodden

leave a comment »

Courtney Stodden

Today’s birthday girl is Courtney Stodden.

Known for doing nothing besides looking trashy and getting married to a fifty-plus man when she was sixteen, Stodden has earned a lot of attention over the past couple of months.  Unfortunately, it’s the wrong sort of attention (although I admit I’m loving the segments about her that have been featured on “The Soup“).

Now I’ve never really explored this before, but when I was still in my late teens, my two best friends were both Virgos.  Looking back on those days, I’ve never known anyone who has wanted to grow up faster than those two.  In fact, their hard-living lifestyles caught up with both of them; one is deceased and the other one has every trip to rehab etched into her face.  It’s tragic.  I was always the voice of reason in our relationships.  I was the guy calling us a cab and making sure that we all got home in one piece.  In both cases, I had to distance myself from them because watching the two of them self destruct was killing me before I had even got out of my twenties.

What I have explored on this blog is the lack of self-reflection that many Virgo natives seem to share.  Both of my friends were prime examples of that quality.  They were often the first ones to point out the shortcomings of others while remaining completely oblivious to their own.  However, I’ve never really looked at the issue from the perspective of someone who wants to grow up too quickly; discovering that today is Courtney Stodden’s birthday has me wondering if there’s something to that theory.

I’m going to have to give it some thought.

Written by Post Author

August 29, 2011 at 10:15 am

Posted in Daily Dish

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

