Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

David Lynch

leave a comment »

David Lynch

The birthday boy for January 20 is David Lynch.

Mulholland Drive” is one of my favorite films.  I couldn’t get the movie off my mind after I saw it.  It kept going through my head like a dream that I was convinced had some sort of hidden meaning.  I’d go through it over and over again trying to figure it out, but instead of getting from Point A to Point B, I’d find myself back at Point A again.

I believe that was the point.  As a Capricorn, Lynch is naturally an adept timekeeper: he innately takes what he believes is the most efficient route to tell his story.  “Mulholland Drive” didn’t tell a story that could be related to its audience in a traditional sequence, but its director wasted no time in telling a story that has been told over and over again.  The idea that Hollywood is the city of broken dreams was all I needed to take away from the film, and for that reason I found it to be a remarkably satisfying filmgoing experience.

Written by Post Author

January 24, 2012 at 11:18 am

Posted in Daily Dish

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

