Cosmically Chic

Astrology. Celebrities. Style.

Diablo Cody

leave a comment »

Diablo Cody

The birthday girl for June 14 is Diablo Cody.

I don’t know much about the screenwriter, but I do know that the character that Charlize Theron portrayed in “Young Adult” had a definite Gemini vibe to her.

Geminis usually don’t want to grow up, and many of them never do.  When we see a character stunted in development like Mavis in “Young Adult,” what offends us most is that they can be rotten and immature while still functioning in an adult world at a near-normal level.  It makes a grown person like me wondering if I’ve missed all the fun in life because I’ve bothered to grow up.  I found myself rooting for Mavis in the film, and my favorite scene of the movie was when she was convinced that her problems with everyone else were their problems.  Oh, to be blissfully unaware!

I wonder how autobiographical the role was supposed to be.  Now that I know that Cody is a Gemini, I suspect that there is more than just a little bit of her in Mavis.

Written by Post Author

June 21, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Posted in Daily Dish

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

